Thrilling Finish To 2014 Optimist National Championship

The 2014 Toyota National Optimist Championship final day was a real thriller on both open and green fleets.

We were once again treated to a great breeze. Peaking at 18 knots, it yet again tested the sailors strengths, particularly with the gusts and shifts coming thorough. In open fleet our top sailors mixed it up a bit by dropping back in most if not all races however their consistency throughout the regatta paid off and we saw Scott McKenzie hold onto his lead and take out the Ralph Roberts Trophy as National Champion. Sam Bacon who finished with a strong 2nd and 1st places lifted to second place with Kerensa Jennings taking third place.

In Green Fleet, Kim Admore took the opportunity to run three races and Blake McGlashan used that to hold his lead to take the Sail One Easter Trophy for first place. Samuel Charles held second and Will Hadfield third.

Principle Race Officer, Harrold Bennett, ran the regatta superbly and with John and Linda Parrish creating 15 solid races for open and Kim Admore 9 for green fleet we had our maximum number of races across a good range of sailing conditions at the magnificent Manly Sailing Club. Without the sponsorship of Toyota, the regatta would not have happened and Toyota’s grass roots support of sailing is simply iconic in the world of Optimist sailing in New Zealand.

By Angus Haslett

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close