2009 Toyota Optimist National Champion

Congratulations to Taylor Burn – 1st Open and 2009 National Champion!
The 2009 Nationals were organised by Richard and Ali Middleton, with help from numerous others. A big thank you to them all for their hard work and for a spectacular event. 

The Open Fleet sailed a total of 14 races over 5 days of very changeable weather. 

The top ten placings were:
1st Taylor Burn, Queen Charlotte Yacht Club
2nd Naomi Mannering, Napier Sailing Club
3rd Erica Dawson, Murrays Bay Sailing Club
4th Paris Stowell, Australia
5th Keith Inglis, Napier Sailing Club
6th Douglas Campbell, Australia
7th Jack Collinson, Wakatere Boating Club
8th Jayvee Buchanan, Charteris Bay/Murray’s Bay
9th Trent Rippey, Tauranga Yacht Club
10th James Parsons, Murrays Bay Sailing Club

The Green fleet sailed a total of 7 races in varying conditions. 1st place went to Isaac McHardie (12) Tauranga, 2nd Nick Thyne (12), Worser Bay,  and 3rd Mathew Bindon, (12), Kerikeri. The next 7 placings are as follows:

4th Ali Nightingale  (12) Charteris Bay 5
5th Chris Coleman (11)  Wakatere 
6th Oakley Marsh (11) Worser Bay 
7th Leonard Takahashi (11) Murray’s Bay 
8th Harry MacIntosh (11) Waiheke Island
9th Ethan Hall (12) Sandspit 

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close