2019/2020 NZIODA Committee

Meet your 2019/2020 NZIODA Committee Members voted in at the AGM held at the Optimist Nationals :


Glenn Armstrong - Coaches Pathway, Worser Bay Yacht Club

Gavin Brady - Skills Coordinator, Wakatare Boating Club 

John Bullot - Officials Pathway, Murrays Bay Sailing Club

Bryce Day - Secretary, Murrays Bay Sailing Club  

David Kayroz - President, Wakatare Boating Club  

Dan Leech - Sailor Pathway / SI Rep, Charteris Bay Yacht Club


2019 Qingdao International Optimist Sailing Camp And Regatta

7th - 15th August 2019

Expressions Of Interest to be Sought

New Zealand has previously sent a team to this regatta in 2012, 2014 and again in 2016 and intends to sign an exchange agreement with them for the coming season. The experience gained from past regattas would suggest that, whilst it was a fantastic experience, it would perhaps be best viewed as an opportunity to experience a different sailing location and culture and use it as a means to build familiarity in traveling internationally to a regatta.


NZIODA 2019 Travelling Teams Selection Criteria *UPDATED*

At the 2019 TOYOTA Optimist Nationals, NZIODA will announce the Top 25 Ranked Sailors and the 2019 Optimist Worlds Team. All other Travelling Teams will be announced at a later date once Teams have been confirmed.

Selection for 2019 is as follows:

Worlds – Top 5 Ranked Sailors 

Euros – Next Top 4 Ranked Sailors (must include 1 from the opposite gender)

North American Champs – Next 4 ranked sailors. Another 2 spots may be possible including gender requirements if notified by IODA as NOR published.